I see right through you

Whilst contemplating the notion of trust I began to consider who or what we value as trustworthy and why they deserve our trust. I also considered who least deserved our trust and with the current political debate, politicians, immediately came to mind. The fallout from Brexit and the current US presidential race have filled the news with vicious bile and hatred, stirring up an undercurrent of prejudice all fuelled by the media. The smiling faces of the politicians seem to ignore this frenzy and continue pushing their own agendas regardless, in order to gain power.

I wanted to depict the current state of affairs but also recognise that this is not something new. We have been manipulated and deceived by politicians for generations; their deception is in pain sight but vigorously denied. People, however, seem to be waking up and realising how untrustworthy our so called leaders are and have been.

In light of this I created a number of pieces depicting politicians with the phrase, ‘I see right through you’. Intended to represent the realisation that people are able to see past their proposed policies for change and realise that for the most part they are only out for themselves. Quite a heavily charged political statement.

My initial idea was to use a series of images of US presidents and British Prime Ministers as a backdrop to the typography. I also attempted to single out two right wing politicians  (above) but I wasn’t convinced that these communicated the message seriously enough. The typography and tone were not solemn enough to communicate the message I wanted to send so I disregarded these options.

 

I then attempted a slightly different approach, whereby the faces of the politicians were still obscured by the typographic treatment but more of the background was retained. This solution however, still didn’t address the solemnity I wanted to communicate. So I again disregarded these options.

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 11.42.27 PM

Fig 1.1

I then came across the image above and decided this would be a great idea to try on an image of a politician. I chose to use Donald Trump as he is a well recognised and current political figure. The controversy that surrounds him made his image the perfect choice to communicate my message of mistrust.

Screen Shot 2016-08-06 at 12.34.36 PM

Fig 2.1.

I was pleased with the end result but in retrospect I wasn’t convinced that this was a suitable piece for the visual narrative of my book. As a piece in its own right I do believe it works well but in terms of continuity and retaining the design language of my book it was not a compatible solution. I therefore decided to leave this idea alone and move on as time is moving quickly on! That and I am convinced that having Donald Trump’s face in my book would be something I’d regret in the future!

All in all removing this piece is the right choice, regardless of its aesthetic success.

 

Images

Fig 1.1: samstevensondesign.com, (n.d.). Noel Gallagher typography. [image] Available at: https://uk.pinterest.com/pin/514606694897404028/ [Accessed 25 Jul. 2016].

Fig 2.1: CNN, (2016). Donald Trump. [image] Available at: https://www.theodysseyonline.com/donald-trump-is-allowed-to-be-racist-because-america-still-is [Accessed 25 Jul. 2016].

I see right through you

Leave a Reply

