Past, Present & Future

“When me and my sister were young, we used to take the crystals from a chandelier that was in our house and sell it as diamonds to the Indians (drivers, gardeners, tailors,..etc) they used to laugh at us and we used to think that they believed us.”

(Iliekit.com, 2015)

This was a confession from ‘Dino’ on the iliekit website that really sparked my attention. I immediately envisioned diamond chandeliers, ornate textures all in an Indian setting. It also got me thinking of the past; how the lies from the past often come back to haunt our present or even affect our future. From here the idea of a fortune teller popped into my head and how she would make a great addition to my dark circus collection!

This idea had been with me for a while. I allowed it to develop slowly and painted the picture of what I wanted to achieve in my mind’s eye before pen touched paper. I have discovered that this is what works for me. I need time to mentally construct the design and have a clear focus before attempting to create or things don’t seem to work as well. I also realise that this time of not often afforded to designers in real world scenarios and this is something I need to work on or alternatively find clients that accept my working methodologies!

The images below show my design process from concept to final illustration. I spent a great deal of time researching Hindu goddesses. I really wanted to convey an Indian aspect to this piece as a hat tip to the original lie and discovered ‘bagalamukhi’ the Hindu goddess of deceit. She has the power to tell truth from lies and is usually depicted dressed in yellow, seated on a golden throne. Which influenced my colour pallet in this piece. I also wanted to incorporate a multi limbed aspect to the design and the hindu goddess analogy allowed me to explore this option.

I am aware now, looking back at my creative output for this project that each piece is becoming more developed, more extravagant and perhaps more daring, certainly more time consuming! This was perhaps a 20 hour project from initial sketch to finished piece. But I do believe the time and effort is worth it and I  feel a real sense of pride at my accomplishments. I would If time weren’t such a luxury like to add more details refine certain elements and experiment a little more but I am also aware of when to draw a line and move on to the next piece. Is an artist ever really satisfied with the work?

This one never is!

 

Screen Shot 2016-03-19 at 11.21.40 AMScreen Shot 2016-03-19 at 11.22.02 AMScreen Shot 2016-03-19 at 11.22.07 AMScreen Shot 2016-03-19 at 11.22.13 AMScreen Shot 2016-03-19 at 11.22.18 AMScreen Shot 2016-03-19 at 11.22.24 AMScreen Shot 2016-03-19 at 11.22.29 AMScreen Shot 2016-03-19 at 11.22.35 AMScreen Shot 2016-03-19 at 11.22.41 AM

References:

Iliekit.com. (2015). Archive confessions. [online] Available at: http://iliekit.com [Accessed 19 Mar. 2016].

Images: Winstanley.L (2016) Gypsy Fortune Teller Major Study

Past, Present & Future

Leave a Reply

