DAY 69

Further to my post on day 65. I have been working on a creative piece revolving around I lie I was told by a colleague. She was asked by a date about her shoe size and too embarrassed to tell the truth she lied and said her feet were much smaller. She then broke up with the guy just in case he planned to buy her shoes! Not only did this make me laugh it gave me a brain worm! and I couldn’t get it out of my head.

I posted some sketches on day 65 and below is my development process and the final outcome of the work. I very much enjoyed working on this project and I really feel that having a clear concept and strongly composed sketches helped me to refine the idea and produce a piece I am really happy with. It would seem that I need to have that ‘brain worm’ to push me and give me the drive and determination to experiment and get creative.

I attempted some very decorative typography in this piece and this is not something I have done much of previously, but I’m really  pleased with how it turned out. Again, I relate this success back to having a good concept and a clear idea in my mind where I wanted to go with it before I went anywhere near Adobe Illustrator! Research also played a large part in shaping this typography. Using Instagram as a source of inspiration has been incredibly motivating and, of course, my favorite designer Marian Bantjes is always at the forefront of my creative thought process.

Then there is Mrs. Mustachio! I had no idea that she would be making an appearance but after the “I Never Lie’ piece I created, the Mustachio family seem to be taking over! This was not something I had anticipated but something I am very much willing to work with and I envision that more pieces may continue with this line of creative exploration.

Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 2.08.10 PM Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 2.08.21 PM Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 2.08.47 PM Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 2.08.53 PM Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 2.09.03 PM Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 2.09.08 PM Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 2.09.18 PM Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 2.09.27 PM Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 2.09.33 PM Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 2.09.48 PM

All images by Lisa Winstanley

Winstanley.L (2015) I have small feet development process

DAY 69

Leave a Reply

