DAY 56

I did not create a diary entry yesterday but this time this was a purposeful choice. I spent the day working on some sketches and visuals for the Practice 2 module and this monopolised my time. Therefore, I made the decision to complete the task I was working on and to prioritize the creative over the reflective. I don’t intend to make a habit of this but I was so engrossed in the design work and in the ‘creative zone’ that I felt I wasn’t able to switch into reflective mode without losing focus. The resulting creative output also affirms that my choice to continue was correct. I am really pleased with the outcomes and feel it was most certainly a worthwhile endeavour. It has also given me some time to reflect on the creative process that I employed and consider my working process, so that I might reflect upon it with fresh eyes today.

I was apprehensive at the beginning of this module that I had perhaps peaked too soon and used all my creative energies but I have learned that creativity breads creativity and I needn’t have worried. I followed a process of idea listing and word association, visual research, sketching by hand and only then, once I have a solid concept, moving to the computer. This allowed me to freely explore creative options without the commitment to refine them digitally. Creating a visual picture in my mind before I refine allows me to build upon that idea and generate options which would have otherwise remained dormant ideas.

I have begun to build an ‘ideas’ folder on my desktop which contains images, typography and illustrations which I find inspirational. By referring to and adding to this folder on a regular basis, I believe I am able to channel this inspiration and build upon my personal manifesto for desirable design.

Shown below is my  process from yesterdays creative activities:

Screen Shot 2015-08-16 at 1.22.02 PM Screen Shot 2015-08-16 at 1.22.12 PM Screen Shot 2015-08-16 at 1.22.25 PM Screen Shot 2015-08-16 at 1.22.30 PM Screen Shot 2015-08-16 at 1.22.37 PM

Fig 1-5: Winstanley. L (2015) I never Lie creative process

DAY 56

Leave a Reply

