DAY 54

My morning has been spent working on way finding visuals for the Flock gallery. I firstly began by conducting some visual research on way finding in general and found some excellent examples of iconography and systems. Below are some examples that were influential to my design process:

Screen Shot 2015-08-14 at 4.16.18 PM

Fig 1. (Cartlidge Levene, n.d.)

Screen Shot 2015-08-14 at 4.15.35 PM

Fig 2. (segd.org, 2011)

Screen Shot 2015-08-14 at 4.16.06 PM

Fig 3. (Sifang Art Museum wayfinding, 2012)

I wanted to work with quite a minimalist look as this was best suited to the overall brand character of Flock and would also compliment the architectural and interior features created by Weaam and the elegant webdesign by Dwijah. With this in mind I started to create a series of icons. By utilising the floor plan Weaam had created I was able to choose a number of areas of importance that guests at the gallery would need to access, such as toilet facilities, the library and the galleries themselves. I then tried to adapt the flock ‘wing’ symbol to be incorporated into the design. This worked in some instances but not so much in others. I decided to try and keep things simple and use the triangular shape minimally to give a flavour of the brand rather than try and fit a square peg in a round hole so-to-speak.

I added Braille to the design to ensure this was inkeeping with the Flock ethos of Art for all. I also considered adding a hearing icon with a push button listening device but disregarding this idea as I considered that in many galleries headsets can be utilised as virtual guided tours and this would deem the feature redundant.

Below are the 2 variants that I created and I have uploaded these to Basecamp for review by the team. I am pleased with how these turned out and believe they add value to the flock brand. Overall I enjoyed the process and by working with the ideas forwarded by other team members I was able to build upon and expand the Flock image in a successful manner. I will be interested to see which way the team members vote. I personally favour the flat icons but I do feel the 3D option still has merit, so I wont be too disappointed should this be the chosen option.

Screen Shot 2015-08-14 at 2.17.32 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fig 4. Winstanley. L (2015) Flock wayfinding icons

Screen Shot 2015-08-14 at 3.16.32 PM

Fig 5. Winstanley. L (2015) Flock wayfinding option 1

Screen Shot 2015-08-14 at 3.16.47 PM

Fig 6. Winstanley. L (2015) Flock wayfinding option 2

 

REFERENCES:

Cartlidge Levene, (n.d.). tate modern signage. [image] Available at: http://cartlidgelevene.co.uk/work/wayfinding-and-signage/wayfinding-signage [Accessed 13 Aug. 2015].

segd.org, (2011). MAXXI National Museum of XXI Century Arts Wayfinding and Environmental Graphics. [image] Available at: https://segd.org/maxxi-national-museum-xxi-century-arts-wayfinding-and-environmental-graphics [Accessed 13 Aug. 2015].

Sifang Art Museum wayfinding. (2012). [image] Available at: http://www.underconsideration.com/brandnew/archives/architecture_museum_at_the_edge_of_the_edge.php#.Vc3sikVhqjw [Accessed 13 Aug. 2015].

DAY 54

Leave a Reply

