DAY 33

PRACTICE 2
I’ve had an incredibly productive day so far. I’ve been working on my webdesign in Adobe Muse and I’m really enjoying the learning process. The site is looking good and I’m so pleased with what I have been able to produce in such a short space of time. Below are some work in progress screen shots to demonstrate where I am at.

I’ve also uploaded a brief for the back end of my website to www.peopleperhour.comThis has been very fruitful and I’ve had over 8 responses to the project. Two in particular have submitted very reasonable proposals and I am now considering my options. The prices quoted were for working with my Adobe Muse files, so I’d still be in charge of the front end design, which ideally, is where I want to be. I really don’t want to pass the whole site to someone else as I feel I’d be cheating myself of a learning opportunity and the chance to see what i am capable of. I’m hoping I can get the basics of the site done today and tomorrow so I can provide a very detailed brief about what I require.

Screen Shot 2015-07-24 at 5.20.58 PM Screen Shot 2015-07-24 at 5.21.18 PM Screen Shot 2015-07-24 at 5.21.25 PM

All images above: Winstanley.L. (2015) Webdesign progress

BUSINESS PERSPECTIVES
I have been planing for my Skype meeting with team Vermilion tomorrow at 3pm Kuwait time. I’m slightly nervous! Seems silly as I’ve been corresponding with these people for the last 10 months but to be honest I’m always nervous in situations such as this. I very much doubt my own ability to articulate in conversation, far more so than written word. I know I’ll be fine but it doesn’t stop the butterflies!

Firstly, I plan to propose that as a team we produce all 4 report documents with one person tackling each report and the fifth person facilitating/researching/proof reading and finalising the documents to create a cohesive look. I intend to nominate myself for the latter option.

Secondly, as far as roles within the team I plan to nominate myself for facilitator and finisher and i also plan to suggest that after we decide on roles that we all write a brief statement that outlines your role and responsibilities within the team,

Lastly, for the communications protocol I propose the following:

  1. Basecamp is the primary source of communication
  2. Response should be within 24 hours – not necessarily action just acknowledgement of message.
  3. Voting should be majority rather than unanimous
  4. Whatsapp maybe another method of communication to consider
  5. A second Skype meeting should be done at the same time in a week to review progress and discuss Gallery options.

I also think we need a ‘brand’ for team vermilion to ensure consistency and plan to offer to contribute to this.

I am hopeful that the meeting will be successful and yeild positive results for the team as a whole.

DAY 33

Leave a Reply

