DAY 14

I’m about to sit down to begin activity 4 for the Practice 2 module. I started some basic research last night but I want to review this and take a look on Studynet to see if I can find journal articles that back up my internet research. That’s my plan for Sunday evening, to source, read and critically evaluate innovative practice within the field of graphic design. I’m looking forward to discovering more as my basic online research yesterday opened my eyes to some growing trends and innovations in the field that I was not aware of. I’m hoping my Studynet search yields yet more information.

This morning I spent my time working on my daily creative challenge, this week’s theme being drop caps. I’ll be writing a review of this plus the next 6 day’s drops caps next Sunday but I did have a lot of fun and the result today was beyond what I had hoped. More to follow soon.

I’ve also been working on an action plan and some visuals for my proposed online confessions portal. I’ve come up with a very ambitious timeline, even by my standards, but I’m keen to move this along as my entire semester now depends on its successful application.

I have divided the creation of the online portal in to 4 stages, mainly because I seem to be able to organise myself better by ‘chunking’ large projects in to smaller more manageable tasks. This has become more and more apparent to me as I have progressed on this course and I am now finding ways to facilitate my strengths and putting frameworks into place that aid my weaknesses. Becoming overwhelmed is definitely one of my weaknesses and by dividing up a larger task, I am able to set myself achievable targets and maintain momentum. Already I’m slightly behind schedule as I’m still to decide on a format for the portal be that a blog, mircosite or standalone website. I have contacted a web designer and I will be meeting with him in the next few days to discuss my options. From a design perspective I’m quite happy with the visuals I have created so far but I’m keen to get feedback from fellow creatives. I’m on vacation from my day job so I don’t have the comfort of a creative faculty supporting me, I’ll have to rely on email, whatsapp to communicate alongside the great support I receive via the forum and from my tutor.

My initial thoughts on the design is that archive page is quite busy and text heavy and the design definitely benefits from breaking up the monotone red and white with my brightly coloured illustration. This could perhaps be incorporated into the design a little more, or an additional colour introduced to break up the sea of red. I’ll run these designs past a number of creative people and gauge their feedback against my personal manifesto for desirable design which I formulated last semester.

Below I have shown my plan of action plus the page visuals of how I’d like to site to look and function.

 

Screen Shot 2015-07-01 at 1.34.58 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fig 1. Winstanley. L (2015) Action plan

 

Screen Shot 2015-07-01 at 1.36.28 PM

Fig 2. Winstanley. L (2015) Home Page

Screen Shot 2015-07-01 at 1.36.42 PM

Fig 3. Winstanley. L (2015) About us

Screen Shot 2015-07-01 at 1.36.53 PM

Fig 4. Winstanley. L (2015) Lie Submission Form

Screen Shot 2015-07-01 at 1.37.09 PM

Fig 5. Winstanley. L (2015) Archive Page

DAY 14

Leave a Reply

