DAY 5

Today is a sad day. There was a suicide bomb in Kuwait city this morning, reportedly killing 25 and injuring many more. ISIS have admitted responsibility and that is terrifying.  I’m still attempting to gather my thoughts and make some sense of this but I am not ashamed to admit that I am scared. Kuwait is in shock.

I’ve spent the day trying to organise work for the Practice module and trying to sketch but I haven’t been able to fully concentrate. I plan to take some time over the next few days to try and decide on the future for my online portal, I want to make a decision by Monday at the latest so I can focus my efforts but for today my creative output has been minimal.

Below are shown some images I’ve been working on for an idea I had previously about investigating paradoxes. I chose to look at the paradox of Schrödinger’s cat, an often misunderstood hypothetical experiment, which according to Merz (2013) aimed to, “highlight the limits of the Copenhagen interpretation” rather than prove that the cat was both alive and dead simultaneously.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/google/google-doodle/10237347/Schrodingers-Cat-explained.html

I am aware that these are work in progress sketches but I do not feel they are ultimately successful. Whether this is because of the tragic events of today jading my view or because of more aesthetic reasons I’m not sure. So I think it wise for me to re-evaluate these at a later date and move on to the next creative challenge.

cat sketch

Fig 1. Schrodinger’s cat

shrodingers cat

Fig 2. Dead and Alive

REFERENCES

Merz, T. (2013). Schrödinger’s Cat explained. [online] Telegraph.co.uk. Available at: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/google/google-doodle/10237347/Schrodingers-Cat-explained.html [Accessed 26 Jun. 2015].

DAY 5

Leave a Reply

