EVALUATION AND REFINEMENT

This week I’ve undertaken a period of evaluation and reflection on the work I have produced so far. I have engaged in both self reflection and sought feedback from my colleagues and peers. This has enabled me to evaluate my work in a way which has added a new dimension to my design process and has given me valuable feedback for areas that require improvement and in pathways where I am progressing well.

Firstly, I created a structure for self evaluation which also doubled as a starting point for dialogue between myself and my colleagues. I organised a series of meetings with 5 participants from the DAAD department faculty at Box Hill College Kuwait who reviewed a total of 8 ‘projects’, each using my checklist system for desirable design.

Screen Shot 2015-05-07 at 11.37.57 AM

Screen Shot 2015-05-07 at 11.38.03 AM

(Bantjes in Popova, 2015).

I totaled the number of faculty who agreed with the statement in each cell and added the cumulative total in the bottom row.

Participants were as follows:
Ms Ala’a Khalifa  – Graphic Design
Ms Mirna Kataya – Graphic Design
Ms Nourah Al Attal – Graphic Design TA
Ms Nada Dalloul – Illustration and drawing
Ms Reem Al Zamel – Interior Design

Screen Shot 2015-05-07 at 11.38.29 AM
The results indicate that the most desirable artworks were Project 1, my ‘I lie Kit’ work for the bomb project and Project 4 the stained glass style piece for  ‘The biggest lie you’ve ever told’ spread. Each scoring 39 points out of a possible 45.

The least desirable piece was be project 8, ‘I love/hate you’ which scored only 27/45.

These results have given me confidence in my work. I am perhaps my own harshest critic and to be given such positive feedback from my peers has instilled in me a sense of pride and accomplishment for what I have achieved. I do believe there is always room for improvement and I will never be 100% happy with my work, but the moment I am, I think it would be time to consider a career change as that would mean I am no longer challenging myself creatively.

I always aim to push boundaries and this evaluation strategy has given me the opportunity to test and refine my artwork on people whom I respect enormously but who also fit perfectly into the target audience for my continuing research. I think this experience has proven to be a very positive step in the right direction towards my goal of desirable design and I plan to continue to use and develop this feedback strategy as a strategic part of my creative process.

REFERENCES:

Popova, M. (2015). Beyond Pretty Pictures: Marian Bantjes on Serendipity, Success, and the Whimsy of Design. [online] Brain Pickings. Available at: http://www.brainpickings.org/2013/11/04/marian-bantjes-pretty-pictures/ [Accessed 10 Apr. 2015].

All images Copyright of Lisa Winstanley 2015

EVALUATION AND REFINEMENT

Leave a Reply

