VISUAL RESEARCH

I have found myself out of my comfort zone more often than not during the past few weeks. I am entering new territory (for me at least) and that brings with it uncertainly, hesitation and indeed mistakes. It goes without saying that this is all part of the learning process and is only wasted should those mistakes not be learned from. I feel now, slowly, that I am finding–my–feet, so to speak, and I can see a clearer path being carved out before me; that is not to say that I don’t anticipate further trial and errors but I certainly feel that I’m in a position to deal with them head on.

This week I have gained some ground, back in the warm, familiar comfort of visual research I’ve been able to synthesize much of my readings of psychology deception and ethics to formulate a visual strategy. I’ve sourced some inspirational contemporary reference material, which has given me a focus and some food–for–thought. My love/hate relationship with the design process is currently in the love phase. I can’t say how long this will last but I’ll take it while it comes!

Bantjes Cats

Fig 1.1

The Book of Coincidence

fig 1.2

Davis 1

fig 1.3

Truth

fig 1.4

sagmesiter 1

fig 1.5

IMAGES

fig 1.1 Bantjes, M. (2011). “Kittens” wrapping paper. [image] Available at: Bantjes, M. (2007). G2: Puzzle Special. [image] Available at: http://www.bantjes.com/project/g2-puzzle-special [Accessed 10 Mar. 2015]. [Accessed 21 Mar. 2015].

fig 1.2 D’Agostino, K. (2013). The Book of Coincidence. [image] Available at: http://thebookdesignblog.com/book-design-inspiration/book-coincidence [Accessed 21 Mar. 2015].

fig 1.3 Davis, J. (2011). Anderson Ranch Workshop Snowmass Co., generative print. [image] Available at: http://www.joshuadavis.com/ [Accessed 21 Mar. 2015].

fig 1.4 Nagy, R. and Henrichsen, J. (2014). TRUTH 365 / ISSUE #1. [image] Available at: http://www.editorialdesignserved.co/gallery/TRUTH-365-ISSUE-1/17715647 [Accessed 21 Mar. 2015].

fig 1.5 Stefan, S. (2005). The Vanity of Allegory. [image] Available at: http://www.sagmeisterwalsh.com/work/project/the-guggenheim-douglas-gordon1/ [Accessed 21 Mar. 2015].

VISUAL RESEARCH

Leave a Reply

